Mistaken identity and enthusiastic student

Boarding a train in Nottingham this week I was greeted by a fellow traveler who said how nice it was to see me again after the Open University discos the night before.   I was quite sure that I had been at hoke the night before and nowhere near the open university in any way – but the woman on the train took rather more convincing!  We agreed in the end that there are plenty of blokes with similar beards and glasses and that I obviously have a doppelgänger in the OU!

Of greater interest to me was to hear that this traveller on the train had spend a week at an OU summer school and she was clearly on a real ‘high’ from the intellectual stimulation of the week. I am sure that much has been written and said about the power of these OU summer schools but I have never actually met someone on a train so ‘fired up’ about learning – she was studying Psychology . I hope it lasts for her.

how

Leave a Reply

